CMHLogo CMH Consulting LLC
Concealed Weapons Permit Class Information

Click here to download a printable version of this page

We hold Concealed Weapons Courses each Saturday from 8 am to 4 pm with sufficient enrollment. Call the store prior to registering to confirm there is a class on your desired class date. There is a maximum of 12 individuals admitted to the class. The first 12 people that register and pay for the class are admitted. You should call first to make sure the date you desire has an available slot.

The tuition is $100 for the class. If you have purchased a firearm from us, or if you bring at lease one other person with you, we will discount you, and anyone else you bring $10 off the tuition ($90). We accept cash or credit cards. The class is held rain or shine, and you must be registered and paid in advance unless special arrangements are made. The tuition is non-refundable.

There is also a $50 SLED Application Fee. This must be paid in the form of a Money Order or Certified Cashier's Check.

You must sign a waiver form to attend the class. If you register and pay on-line, you can fill out and sign the waiver form on the day of the class. If you are going to mail in your registration, you can download the form using the link below and mail it in with your check or money order.

In order to receive your South Carolina Concealed Weapons Permit, you must be 21 years of age or older, be a law abiding citizen, attend an authorized training course, fill out a SLED application (available on SLED's Website), be fingerprinted on SLED Fingerprint Cards (available at the Sheriff’s Department or the store), and send $50 to SLED for a Background Investigation. It can take up to 90 days for SLED to process your application. You should have your application complete and fingerprints done prior to the class to save time. SLED accepts only type written applications. Fill it out online and print it. You can access it here.

We get lots of questions about what kind of prior offenses may constitute a denial of an SC Concealed Weapons Permit. These decisions are made by the FBI, SLED, and your County Sheriff. We don’t have any part in making that decision. As a general rule, if you can buy a firearm legally in South Carolina, you will most likely be approved. If you have been convicted of a felony, had any domestic violence arrests, or the Sheriff Department or Police Department have you on their proverbial “Regular Visit” list, you are likely to be denied a CWP. You can appeal any denial, but you are on your own. We are not lawyers here, and are not able to give legal advice.

About 95% of our Students successfully get their CWP’s.

Once registered, you must report to our office at 196 Bells Ave. in Walterboro at 8 am with the following items:

1. A quality, unloaded handgun. (We supply).

2. A minimum of 50 rounds of target ammunition for that handgun. (We supply).

3. $50 Money Order or Cashier's Check made out to SLED.

4. Eye and Ear Protection.

5. A valid South Carolina Driver’s License or I.D. Card. Active Duty Military that are not S.C. Residents must produce a Military I.D. Card and copy of PCS Orders.

6. A sturdy belt and holster to fit your weapon. (We Supply).

7. The SLED application and fingerprint cards. (You can be fingerprinted after the class, but bring the cards so we can help you fill them out).

8. Note taking materials.

9. Rain gear in case of wet weather.

Click Here to Pre-Register for a CWP Class
Back to CMH Home Page